The Zehlendorf Museum of Local History (Heimatmuseum Zehlendorf) is housed in a schoolhouse built in 1828. Together with a church from 1768, the churchyard and the Friedenseiche (Oak of Peace), the museum forms the very centre of Zehlendorf. Village school teacher Ernst Ferdinand Schäde wrote the first village chronicles here in 1836. In 1886, the Zehlendorf Historical Society was formed and today serves both the museum and the archives.
Visitors can wander through the historical 19th century rooms and take an informative trip through Zehlendorf's eventful past all the way to its incorporation into greater Berlin in 1920.
The photos and objects contained in the former teachers' sitting room provide an impression of Zehlendorf's social and political development up to the end of the Imperial Era. The archives also provide visitors with an all-encompassing overview of local history. The documents contained in the personal archive, photographic archive, map archive and local archive are systematically catalogued as are the local newspapers of south-west Berlin.